Pioneer Valley

The Pioneer Valley region includes three western Massachusetts counties and stretches from the Vermont border to the north to the Connecticut border to the south. This section of the website provides information for public and private colleges with two-year and four-year programs in Hamden, Hampshire and Franklin County.

Two State Universities:

  • UMass Amherst
  • Westfield State University

Three Community Colleges:

  • Greenfield Community College (GCC)
  • Holyoke Community College (HCC)
  • Springfield Technical Community College (STCC)

Eight Private Colleges and Degree Completion Programs:

  • American International College (AIC)
  • Bay Path University
  • Cambridge College
  • Elms College
  • Mount Holyoke College
  • Springfield College
  • Springfield College School of Human Services
  • UMass Amherst University without Walls (UWW)


The Region 1 Educator and Provider Support (EPS) agency is The Preschool Enrichment Team, a program of the Valley Opportunity Council in Chicopee, MA. Region 1 EPS provides and coordinates Academic and Career Advising services to all 4 western MA counties: Hamden, Hampshire, Franklin, and Berkshire County.


Are you an Educator in Western Ma: Region 1?

Click this image of the region to open a PDF of the map

(Click image to view full Map)



Kim S. Audette, M.Ed., Academic and Career Advancement Coordinator for EPS-WM    413-775-1270

"Working with Early Childhood and OST educators in Hampshire, Hampden, Franklin and Berkshire Counties to advance their education and professional credentials!"